My introduction to “Breakdown of Will” .

          I have long suffered from my own breakdown of will. I finally found an interesting book by George Ainslie “Breakdown of will” and decided to read it and put it to test. I am not a psychologist, yet my troubles from different addictions have put me on the abyss of my life. My family and I went through various hardship, and as it seems to me there is no end to it. I have tried various meditation techniques and practices. Yet, time and time again I tend to come back to my addictions. Will it be overeating, drinking too much or using drugs.

         So, I decided to put to test this scientific knowledge that I can attain from this book. “Zeitgeist: moving forward” has beautiful definition of scientific method : “Science is unique in that its methods demand not only that ideas proposed be tested and replicated, but everything science comes up with is also inherently falsifiable. In other words, unlike religion and politics science has no ego and everything it suggests accepts the possibility of being proven wrong eventually. It holds on to nothing and evolves constantly.” So, I thought why not put scientific method to test. Try to document my findings from the books I read here on my blog and hopefully empirically come to a new solution for me. Some of you who might find themselves in the same situation might take something for themselves.

           As, you understand I work full time and do not have time to regularly update this blog. Yet, I promise that I will try my best to keep it up to date. Otherwise I do not see the point of reading, if you do not process it internally. I can only process things when I write them out.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 2,928 hits
